Apollo Tyres APMEA president Satish Sharma elected as ATMA chairman

chairmanApollo Tyres’s Satish Sharma, president for Asia Pacific, Middle East & Africa (APMEA) unit, has been elected as the next chairman of tyre industry body Automotive Tyre Manufacturers Association (ATMA).

Satish has held important portfolios in his two decades in Apollo Tyres, including that of Chief Marketing Officer and Chief of Indian Operations, before being appointed as the APMEA president in early 2014. He is also a member of the company’s Management Board.

Eleven large tyre companies comprising a mix of Indian and International tyre majors and representing over 90% of tyre production in India are members of ATMA. The association’s members include Apollo Tyres, Birla Tyres, Bridgestone India, Ceat, Continental India, Goodyear India, JK Tyre& Industries, Michelin, MRF, TVS Tyres, and Yokohama.

ATMA is a link between the tyre manufacturers and the Indian government, providing assistance in relevant policy formulation on the tyre industry. It regularly publishes industry data and brings out status notes on various industry issues.

ATMA is governed by a Managing Committee which is assisted by expert groups in areas like Marketing, Exports, Purchase of  Raw Materials, Taxation and Technical.